career-colleges

Reviews For MIAT College of Technology

2955 S Haggerty, Canton, MI

3 out of 5 Stars (10 Reviews)

MIAT College of Technology Reviews

There are 10 reviews posted below for MIAT College of Technology. We encourage you to write your own review in order to assist possible future students of this school.

  • Reviewed on November 11, 2018 (Flag Review)
  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

As a former MIAT employee I can tell you they are WAY OVER PRICED and make promises they can't keep to the students. Those who attend are saddled with a HUGE FINANCIAL AID burden. Many state agencies do not want to work with MIAT. If you are in high school, enroll in an aviation maintenance program at that level and save tens of thousands of dollars. As an employee, I worked around the clock, I was disrespected as a veteran and received no support. I didn't like how our students were treated and I left in total frustration into early retirement.

  • Reviewed on August 17, 2016 (Flag Review)
  • Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I am an MIAT Graduate. My current Job and Pay scale is Due to my Associates Degree in Energy Technology Thanks to MIAT I am back to work with a good paying Job much of what I learned I use every day MIAT is a Great School but it is not a free ride you have to study and work for a good grade this is not T-ball Kids if you do not work for it, they will not just give it to you but many can and do become Honor students and there are a lot of employers out there that look for college training and education like any of the courses offered by MIAT Good luck if this is your choosing.

BTW you Make it what you want it to be Deadheads will not make it in this school! You fail it is your fault, not the schools!

Bill MIAT Graduate and Alumni. Class of Dec 2014

  • Reviewed on July 28, 2016 (Flag Review)
  • Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Some of what was said on this was TRUE however, I graduated at the top of my class, had perfect attendance for 99.9% of my schooling, and had good instructors. Some students I went to school with did do questionable things but, like any school, happens all the time. I did the dispatch program and was taught things I already knew and things I didn't. I am certified in air and 911 dispatching and what some don't realize is that that is a life long license. It may be over priced but not as much as a university which I received a partial scholarship to (University of Minnesota) because of grades and the school itself. Being licensed in the air portion of this program is pretty much ground school so theoretically all one would have to do is the flight portion to become a pilot. Shawn in admissions was great, still have contact with him. I would have given my experience 5 stars however, one instructor was gender and color racist and she was of African-American descent and really wasn't qualified to do the job and was fired after I had graduated also student services didn't do a more thorough job on the employer side. A classmate and I were recruited and worked for a expedition company that never paid us for nearly a month of work. In their redemption, I did get a job with the railroad dispatching. Take what you will from this post. I attended the Canton, MI campus graduate in 2010.

  • Reviewed on May 29, 2015 (Flag Review)
  • Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Very few actual faculty members...just contractors.

  • Reviewed on September 23, 2014 (Flag Review)
  • Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The school costs a fortune. They say they help with jobs for students but my daughter has been there for 2 months and still no job. Also, unless you are in an associates program they do no give you access to wifi. A technology school without access to wifi? So while we pulled loans for the college program we are also paying an extra $600 a month for rent and food because she can't get a part time job. If you are a middle class or lower class family this is not the place for you.

  • Reviewed on April 29, 2013 (Flag Review)
  • Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

I am a 2012 graduate,graduated top of my class,missed very little time and have my airframe and power plant license. I have had no luck finding a job and zero help from career services sent my resume to them they said it looked great I looked it over again and found a handful of errors. The money they say you will make is not even close.Student loans are about to be due and I'm still unemployed feeling like a huge mistake.

  • Reviewed on February 27, 2013 (Flag Review)
  • Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

This is a great school. I usually don't write reviews, but I saw the negative ones on here and I figured I would lend my 2 cents. People that aren't satisfied with any schooling is because they don't put in the required effort. I saw a bunch of these types of students at MIAT. They were late to class all the time, and didn't do the appropriate amount of work. Then they complain. Huge shock. This is the kind of school that requires you to be there because it is fast paced. If you cannot be serious about school, then this is definitely not the right place for you. I can stand the students that complain, this school went over and above the call of duty to help me and many others that took it serious. I am an Aircraft Technician for a large cargo operator and I would have NEVER got this opportunity without MIAT. Good luck with your college decision, and take what these negative reviews say with a grain of salt. The people that wrote them were bad students that wanted everything handed to them without putting in any hard work. If you are that kind of person, stay away from MIAT, and any school for that matter. Thanks.

  • Reviewed on February 20, 2013 (Flag Review)
  • Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The front office is not concerned with the student body, just how much money they can get out of each student. The equipment is way below expectations on what they will be working on in the field. Discipline is awful. Students essentially get a slap on the wrist is they do something wrong. The "3 strike rule" they should enforce is non-existent. Go somewhere else.

  • Reviewed on August 02, 2012 (Flag Review)
  • Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Pretty good school. Kind of got screwed though cause i only wanted to do the aviation dispatch portion but they said i had to do the whole dispatch portion. They sucked more money out of me. The only good thing I learned was the FAA dispatch part where i got my license. I got hired at 2 different airlines since i got my diploma and FFA license though so the school paid off

  • Reviewed on March 07, 2012 (Flag Review)
  • Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Excellent school. Career services really helped out.

Write Your Review of MIAT College of Technology

To get started, please select a rating from the drop down menu below. Reviews are subject to approval, and inappropriate or incendiary comments may be edited or rejected. All fields below are required.

Rate This School

Email

Review

I Accept the Terms of Use

Contact Information

General Contact

Admissions Office

Financial Aid Office

School Map




ACCEPTANCE RATE
64.23%

FINANCIAL AID RATE
92%

STUDENT:TEACHER RATIO
9:1

FINANCIAL AID AWARD AVG.
$4,395