career-colleges

Reviews For Neumont University

143 South Main Street, Salt Lake City, UT

5 out of 5 Stars (20 Reviews)

Neumont University Reviews

There are 20 reviews posted below for Neumont University. We encourage you to write your own review in order to assist possible future students of this school.

  • Reviewed on November 13, 2011 (Flag Review)
  • Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I'm current Neumont student in the Web design and development degree and I love this college. I was lucky enough to be admitted into this school and I immediately fell in love. This school is incredibly fast paced and everything they teach you will be used day to day in the business world in which this school prepares you for. I am learning new things every day and it is exhilarating.

I would suggest this school to anyone that has an interest in computer programming and/or computer technology. I have already had contact with employers like Microsoft, Indeed, REI. I love this school and cannot think of any reason why a person who loves computer programming or loves being surrounded by dozens of computer literate people typing away creating the next big thing would not want to come to this school.

  • Reviewed on May 06, 2011 (Flag Review)
  • Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Neumont University is geared towards success. They focus on teaching you everything you will need to know in the industry. Neumont University has teachers who have been out there, teachers who have worked at Microsoft and EA and know what's out there, waiting for you. They dedicate their time and patience to preparing you for everything that's going to come at you in the real world.

But be prepared to work hard. This school is not for everybody. If you come to Neumont, be prepared to work hard for the education you're going to earn. You honestly do get what you put into this school, and it is totally worth it.

  • Reviewed on May 06, 2011 (Flag Review)
  • Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

I have learned a lot from this school so far. I never would have thought i would learn so much in a year and a half, but I have. I have not only learned how to program, but how to communicate more effectively.

The teachers here are very helpful and they will answer your questions well. Working in groups and working on relevant technology and projects is a lot more useful than learning how microprocessors work. If you want to learn how microprocessors work, then this place is not your place to be.

The experience you get with working with actually companies is very useful.

Overall, it is a fantastic school is you want to learn how to program computers and communicate with fellow programmers.

  • Reviewed on May 06, 2011 (Flag Review)
  • Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

I am currently on quarter 7 out of 10 for my BS of Computer Science at Neumont University. Neumont is definitely a lot different than what most people expect it to be. Expect to be challenged, expect to work hard.

Unlike traditional colleges, we know the professors as well as they know us and you get to become friends of the faculty. You also are in very small classes so you get to know each of the students and you always have places to go for help whether it be the teachers or the students. Because of how close we all are, there are a lot of cool events that we do such as camping, skiing, hiking, movie outings, etc including a trip to Lake Powell this summer for a week!!

I so far have learned SQL Server, Java, C#, Photoshop, etc.

Before you come here you should definitely know for SURE that computer science is what you want to do. Even the gen ed classes are computer science related and you will be doing this ALL DAY, EVERY DAY.

For me, being a girl, it was important to know about the ratio of boy:girl and it's also definitely different. There are about 10 girls (more arriving every quarter though) and about 300 boys. The few of us girls here really try to bond together and get some girl time in so we don't go crazy or anything, but honestly, after awhile, you really just don't even notice any more. There's less drama with less girls (which is good, you'll need the drama free time to do homework!!)

The living situation is amazing. We live in 2 bed 2 bath apartments that are super nice. They were just built in 2009, so they are pretty new (we were the first ones to live in our apartment). The school is only a mile away so it's a quick walk if you want to walk to school.

So overall, Neumont is great, the community is great, South Jordan is beautiful, there's tons to do, but it's not for everyone! Be sure if you come here, this is definitely what you want.

  • Reviewed on May 06, 2011 (Flag Review)
  • Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I currently attend Neumont pursuing a degree in Computer Science. In a short amount of time I have gone from a limited coding knowledge to an understanding of good design and coding principles. The instructors really know their stuff and are great at passing on their knowledge to the students. Class sizes are small so you get an interactive classroom experience and can get 1 on 1 help from the instructors if you need it. It's not an easy program, it takes a lot of hard work, but the end result is awesome - better than 90% job placement and average starting salaries of $60k all in a 2.5 year program.

  • Reviewed on May 06, 2011 (Flag Review)
  • Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Neumont University is a fun and fast paced learning environment focusing in Computer Science and Business. I am currently seven quarters into the ten quarter, two and a half year, Bachelors in Computer Science. Thus far I have learned a lot about programing and good practice. I have also had experience working in project teams and focusing on how we will be working in industry.

Even though Neumont is very work and industry focused we still have tons of fun. Student groups called Orders like to host huge parties on campus at least every quarter. As a student your social life is what you make of it.

If you're looking to see more what Neumont is like you can follow the links below.

Youtube: http://www.youtube.com/user/neumontuniversity

  • Reviewed on May 06, 2011 (Flag Review)
  • Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I am currently a student at Neumont University in studying Computer Science
I came in right after the summer of 2010 and started int October 1st, 2010.
I will tell all students and high school students, if you are looking for social school, DO NOT PICK THIS SCHOOl. True, we don’t have a big football team like University of Utah that is only a couple of miles away from us but we get our bachelor degree in 2 ½ years. YES! 2 ½ years. It is true that you can get it at that time period if you get your work done
I have to say that, I am proud to be here. I meet all types of programmers and other students. We always have different companies to hire us throughout the year. We have one of the highest rates for grabbing a job right after graduating

Listen, this school program is very hard. If you’re not here to work, I will tell you now, you are wasting your money. Not trying to scare people but the program is intense. With effort and the willing to learn, you can make it out with a Degree in your hand and tell your friends, “your still in school…”

I will say about the cons of this school. The school is very hard and I see a lot of student drop out of flunk out. There not much of social around here but we do have events always throughout the quarter(quarter=semester). The campus is 2 floors… but it’s still good. But overly, this college isn’t bad at all really. I would suggest visiting the campus and getting a feel for it. This school is great, I keeping up with my classes with my hard work. I hope many new students come to this school because its great environment for programmers, web design, etc.

  • Reviewed on May 06, 2011 (Flag Review)
  • Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

This is an awesome school, if you want to learn about Computers. Neumont is also adding more degrees to their curriculum.

Currently I'm taking the Business degree from Neumont and they did give me courses to understand Computer programing. It is a small university, taking up only 2 floors on an office building, but with more depend of students coming the school will expand.

  • Reviewed on May 06, 2011 (Flag Review)
  • Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

An intense school that knows how teach the most relevant information in computer science. I am half way through the program, 2 1/2 years, and by the time I graduate I will have about a 98% chance for getting a job in two months, but this also require me to work hard and be focused on school.
I never regret the choice of coming here.

  • Reviewed on May 06, 2011 (Flag Review)
  • Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

If you want to be in front of all cs grads, the only choice is to come to Neumont University.

  • Reviewed on May 06, 2011 (Flag Review)
  • Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I'm a student at Neumont who is just outside of the "beginner" quarters at the school. I love this school. Before coming here, I felt that I was so different from my friends because of my nerdiness, which excluded me somewhat. When I came to Neumont, within 2 weeks I already had a group of friends from school who matched my personality and who I loved hanging out with.

The classes are great (so far). I've had classes in the Java and SQL languages. I've also taken some classes to be a better problem solver and to work better and more efficiently with team members/co-workers. In my object-oriented programming class, our final project for the quarter was to make a text-based rpg (roll playing game). It was so much fun making it. I was able to put that project in the schools "Project Showcase" where a whole ton of projects were shown.

In my SQL class, our teaching is taking a unique way in our learning. He created a murder mystery story where we use SQL to figure out who the murderer is.

The workload can be intimidating at times. Sometimes you have two or three projects that are all due in a small window of time.

  • Reviewed on May 06, 2011 (Flag Review)
  • Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

I went to Neumont not knowing how to program at all. I am at the end of my course and now know two languages, have taken a variety of courses, and am ready for a job. The homework is intense and the workload is beyond the classroom, but that is the way to learn. Thanks to Neumont, I learned in two years what takes a regular university student 4 years. Worth the pain to graduate more experienced sooner.

  • Reviewed on May 06, 2011 (Flag Review)
  • Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

I am a current student attending Neumont University. I have been attending Neumont University for 8 months now. So far I have had very few bad experiences with and at the school. Like any other university there are some instructors that you won't like, or you don't agree with. That isn't grounds for a bad review though. The university as a whole has been the best experience I've had with any school thus far.

  • Reviewed on May 02, 2011 (Flag Review)
  • Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

There are plenty of great reviews out there about Neumont University, but the most impressive reviews would be what Neumont's industry partners have to say about the University. Now, I may be biased (since I do work for Neumont) but if you check out: http://www.neumont.edu/aboutus/our_success.html you'll see some great info about Neumont.

You can also check out the Neumont reviews blog at: http://www.neumontuniversitystudentreviews.blogspot.com/

  • Reviewed on April 28, 2011 (Flag Review)
  • Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

This school is awesome. My brother went here, received an awesome education, and has a great job directly because of Neumont. The best place to be, in my opinion, for Computer Science related degrees.

  • Reviewed on February 09, 2011 (Flag Review)
  • Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Currently I am half way though getting a BS in Computer Science Degree. So far I have learned a lot about programing. I came into this school without writing even one line of code. So far I have a decent grasp on Java and C#. Every quarter I have done projects that help me learn about the language and how to code. Not only have I made some desktop applications but I have worked a bit in web development. Soon after coming here I learned about how to design code, keeping things organized and being able to easy maintain code.

Beyond just java and C# I've learned about SQL Server and ORM. I have a good understanding of how to design a database and with the skills I have learned at Neumont.

One class that I am almost done with is Advanced C#, this class has given me a deep understanding of the .Net Framework.

All and all I would recommend this school to anyone interested in learning about programming at an accelerated pace. Neumont has a great facility team and a good work/study environment. It has a lot of hands learning and I can't wait to enter Enterprise Projects.

If you plan on coming here, plan on doing a lot of work and spending time in class and at home working.

  • Reviewed on February 09, 2011 (Flag Review)
  • Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Neumont University takes the learning process to a whole new level. With their program, working in groups helps emphasize the way things work in the industry. Neumont's two and a half year program keeps you in the program throughout the whole year to keep you engaged in your work. Classes are reminiscent grade school, but taken to the college level.

Towards the end of the Neumont experience, students are given the experience to work with the industry. Right out of school, they have the experience to integrate with how things work in the real world.

If you want to learn more about Neumont, visit their site at:
neumont.edu

If you want to learn more about the current students and alumni, visit the forums at:
neumontforums.com

  • Reviewed on February 09, 2011 (Flag Review)
  • Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I received a "typical four year computer science education" and then found Neumont. Neumont has a much better hands-on teaching model aligned to industry need. Neumont incorporates all aspects of what makes a good developer with coding skills, soft skills, and all around a great interactive hands on experience.

Neumont is not bound by all the red tape of a larger industry and adapts with industry as needed.

Neumont is the only way to gain a relevant CS education!

  • Reviewed on February 04, 2011 (Flag Review)
  • Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Neumont University rules! Truly a modern university for a modern world.

  • Reviewed on January 25, 2011 (Flag Review)
  • Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Neumont University has been recognized by the US Department of Education and the Chronicle of Higher Education for innovation in program delivery. Neumont has also been commended by CNBC, MSNBC, the LA Times, Parade Magazine, Fox Business News, and Forbes Magazine. To read more about what the national media is saying about Neumont log on to www.neumont.edu/news.

You can also read current student and alumnus Neumont reviews at www.neumontforums.com or by logging on to Neumont's facebook page at www.neumont.edu/facebook.

Neumont offers acceptance deadlines in January, April, and June and courses start in July and October.

Neumont offers three additional programs not mentioned on this site:

BS in Technology Management - www.neumont.edu/bstm

BS in Software and Game Development -
www.neumont.edu/bsgd

BS in Web Design and Development -
www.neumont.edu/bswd

To read more about all of Neumont University's undergraduate programs log on to www.neumont.edu/undergrad.

Write Your Review of Neumont University

To get started, please select a rating from the drop down menu below. Reviews are subject to approval, and inappropriate or incendiary comments may be edited or rejected. All fields below are required.

Rate This School

Email

Review

I Accept the Terms of Use

Contact Information

General Contact

Admissions Office

Financial Aid Office

School Map




ACCEPTANCE RATE
83.01%

FINANCIAL AID RATE
100%

STUDENT:TEACHER RATIO
21:1

FINANCIAL AID AWARD AVG.
$5,436