career-colleges

Reviews For Southwest Florida College

1685 Medical Lane, Fort Myers, FL

2 out of 5 Stars (22 Reviews)

Southwest Florida College Reviews

There are 22 reviews posted below for Southwest Florida College. We encourage you to write your own review in order to assist possible future students of this school.

  • Reviewed on August 21, 2013 (Flag Review)
  • Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

After attending this school for 4 years, I can say that I would not recommend it to anyone. The instructors change every year. I am told the college lets them go so they do not have to pay any raises. The instruction is good, and my former program manager was good, but the tuition is beyond excessive. The college is poorly managed. Find a better college.

  • Reviewed on July 11, 2013 (Flag Review)
  • Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

The tuition increased three times in two years. I could have gone to Nova for that amount of money. I am very disappointed in swfc. It's all about the money they can get from you in the form of student loans. I cannot say anything good about the school, but i do enjoy being in the classroom with my friends. The best advice i can give is to find another school. Don't set yourself up for financial problems later. Ask around at the larger schools, talk to admissions and ask about swfc.

  • Reviewed on July 05, 2013 (Flag Review)
  • Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

I watched the tuition raise three times in a two year period. at the end I was paying over 300 dollars per credit. It is sad because I could have attended Nova University for that price. But from reading all of the posts, it sounds like the plan was to get as much money from the students as possible. I have many friends that attended other colleges in Florida and I believe that I have been used in the worst kind of way.

  • Reviewed on April 15, 2013 (Flag Review)
  • Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

The medical program is not the only program that credits will not transfer from. None of the credits are accepted by the State of Florida. Only a few credits are accepted by very few colleges(not in this area).

  • Reviewed on February 20, 2013 (Flag Review)
  • Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Wow I graduated in 2004 and was nothing like this and was $200 less a credit hour. Was thinking of going back. But got there to meet up with someone and they could not locate my trnscripts. Guess I am starting fresh. Thanks all.

  • Reviewed on February 01, 2013 (Flag Review)
  • Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I'm enrolled in the Health Information Management (HIM) two-year Associates degree program at SWFC. I am currently in my second term. I have had a very positive college experience at SWFC, meeting great students and learning from helpful and focused instructors.

The Port Charlotte campus is small and allows for a nice student to teacher ratio. All classes taken so far have been relevant to my major and thoroughly interesting and enjoyable.

The program manager for the HIM department is also an excellent instructor. Teachers are always willing to help students. The workload is pretty substantial, so be prepared to work hard. I feel confident that I will pass the RHIT and CCA exams!

Overall, SWFC is a great college that I highly recommend!

  • Reviewed on January 08, 2013 (Flag Review)
  • Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

I've never seen any of the students in the SWFC.edu commercials at the school. Its not a big school all the students know each other.

  • Reviewed on December 02, 2012 (Flag Review)
  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

I am upset with myself for selecting this school. I have wasted time,money and effort on a school that should not be allowed to operate. If you are in the process of selecting a school please choose another. Recognize the pushy advertising and aggressive tactics as a bad sign. Evaluate all options before making a decision that will disappoint you. There are better colleges out there.

  • Reviewed on November 20, 2012 (Flag Review)
  • Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The programs are way expensive, they're nice at first to get you to think it's a great place, but once you're in, they could care less about you or the problems you're having with your classes, they're careless and unorganized.. I could go on and on.

  • Reviewed on November 15, 2012 (Flag Review)
  • Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

I had a great experience with my classmates, but the last two-three semesters have changed drastically. The morale of the staff is bad, they seem stressed all the time.

  • Reviewed on October 18, 2012 (Flag Review)
  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

If I had known that I'd be going to a trade school following graduation in order to obtain the necessary education for my field? I'd probably have skipped the miserable experience that was SWFC. The place wasted my family money with a so-called 'Smart Choices Scholarship' of which I had to pay $125 a month for. I was told it would be put into a savings account until I graduated--provided I had a certain GPA and was a full time student--and then when my course ended they'd give me the money back to do with as I pleased, though they recommended I use it to pay back loans.

I was not given a choice at the end and there seemed to be nothing we could do about it. I later learned that for my program--Medical Billing and Coding--there was a national certification that I needed in order to be considered employable. I am 11k in debt and this certification was not mentioned, except in passing, and then when I finally got down to it and asked.. It was an extra $200 for their little prep course for it, and then the certification was $400 out of my pocket.

Look, don't go to this school. They hire their professors off of Craigslist, they bounce prices and schedules around and even though they make statements about 'academic dishonesty' I did not see them expel even one person who cheated even if that person was caught. For billing and coding you'll get a better education as to the field from trade schools in the area like High Tech North/Central. Just say no to SWFC.

  • Reviewed on October 04, 2012 (Flag Review)
  • Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

I will say I was excited about going back to school. However I think the people at this school lie more than military recruiters to get you to sign up and then screw you over from day one. I wanted to take both online and campus (morning) classes. They told me morning on campus classes would be no problem and was told they offered them once i signed up I and enrolled after my first term they told me they do not offer morning classes for my field of study and then every term I did not get the correct books and would be without a book till 5-6weeks in when we were taking midterms. needless to say my grades were not high except for the 1 class i did have a book in so they would not let me do online classes. This term has just started and I again only have 1 correct book. I am in the process of talking to another school to see about transferring to that school. and will probably change my field of study as they offer it at the other school. When i told my instructors about not having the books vice versa they told me well catch up when you get them, but when you are 6 weeks behind on assignments/readings and cannot study for midterms besides notes you took in class it makes it kind of hard to past tests and do well on midterms/final exams.

  • Reviewed on September 26, 2012 (Flag Review)
  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

There are no minus stars for the rating on this school. Find another school!!! Please do your due diligence.

  • Reviewed on September 07, 2012 (Flag Review)
  • Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

At 28 years old I had 0 regrets in my life, that is until I attended and finished the surgical scrub tech program at SWFC in Port Charlotte, what a joke. When I signed up for the program I was informed that it would cost me $27,000, $14,000 of which I received in pell grants so that would make my actual loan amount that I had to pay back $13,000. Well 2 1/2 years later and I owe roughly $47,000 that doesn't include my pell money, so a worthless school with a worthless program cost me $61,000. How you ask? I can't answer that but neither can swfc. The teachers were lousy, the training laughable and not one person I know of from the surge tech program has gotten a job. The few good teachers they did hire either quit or were fired and the hospitals don't even want the swfc students, because we aren't properly trained, knowledgeable and just don't know a damnable thing. I felt so stupid going into my externship, but feel even worse now knowing I wasted almost 3 years of my life, $47,000 and I have not a damn thing to show for it. I cant even get my diploma because like the others say some how my funds got messed up.

  • Reviewed on July 16, 2012 (Flag Review)
  • Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

The school is poorly managed, the owners probably don't realize this. I am trapped there because my boyfriend talked me into joining. Please go to a regionally accredited college, not this privately owned college. They tell me I owe them money but I pay in full each term before starting.

  • Reviewed on June 15, 2012 (Flag Review)
  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

All you have to do is have a personal talk with any of the current students and you will understand why you should reconsider attending this college. I rate this college with one star because a -negative rating doesn't exist. I can only speak from experience in the medical program, but I hear that the business and criminal justice programs operate the same way. Tuition has been raised 3 times since I began, and no change in the quality of education. I hope you check the other regional accredited colleges in the area. Good luck on your search!!!

  • Reviewed on June 13, 2012 (Flag Review)
  • Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

The education here for the medical billing program is over priced. they are not accredited by AHIMA yet. The program managers have changes 3 times in the past 3 years, the new director of education is about to be terminated, they allow teachers with no knowledge of the course material to teach the classes. They do not follow the course syllabus, VERY inconsistent amount of work, and expectations. they say one thing and do another. changing things all the time. waste of time. cancel major projects after you have already started them,do not follow the syllabus, they have raised tuition on me 2 times since ive been there and require uniform that cost 40$. books are never ontime for class. i didnt get one of my books until the third to the last week of class.save yourself the frustration

  • Reviewed on June 08, 2012 (Flag Review)
  • Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

This college has the worst reputation. I have seen scam every once of money from people and then kick them to the curb. They own the bookstore and overcharge for books because it all comes from student loans. The turnover rate is high for a reason.

  • Reviewed on May 31, 2012 (Flag Review)
  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

I am currently a student going on 2 years in Aug 2012. I asked them if they could fax me unofficial transcript they won't release it due to the balance I own them. Let me say this I used VA 911 GI bill they pay for my school. But yet I still own them.

  • Reviewed on May 02, 2012 (Flag Review)
  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Too bad you cannot give less than one star. When you enroll you are told about the lifetime placement assistance. You put up (or borrow) the $30,000 required for a "state of the art" degree and then hope for a night job at 7-11, because for most students, that is all a degree from Southwest Florida College is worth. Almost all adjunct instructors who really are only doing it for a few extra bucks and will admit it as well, program directors never available. a registrar's office that won't take phone calls and makes you sit in the lobby until you give up and leave. And the financial office, better known as the business office is more like organized crime than a college. Excess charges, charges for non-existent items, over charging and so forth. Owners and operators, something called SFC Acquisitions (or similar, belong on trial and not running a non regionally accredited college with a bad reputation. This "college" will be gone soon. They expanded into medical fields they cannot support with instructors, students or practice/externship sites. They have nowhere for the nursing program to obtain practicals, the lab program is not NAACLS approved and so on. A few more quarters and they will max out what they can steal from this area and go back and focus on Texas where they came from. Yes, Edison has had problems, but it will recover and lead you to a legit degree that can be parlayed into a bachelors nearby at Florida Gulf Coast University (or any other state school). See what you can do with the education from Southwest Florida College - for 80% or more graduates, it's nothing but a new monthly loan expense to pay on that 7-11 wage.

  • Reviewed on August 02, 2011 (Flag Review)
  • Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

I am attending Southwest Florida College now for interior design. I transferred from another school due to my family moving across state and I was very unhappy about how they did not transfer a lot of classes that I had already taken. I want a degree so that is why I'm sucking it up, and finishing up here for a few more months since there are no other schools within two hours for my major.

  • Reviewed on May 14, 2011 (Flag Review)
  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Really think twice before enrolling at Southwest Florida College and their Medical Billing and Coding program. I completed the program with a 3.92 GPA and dean's list, all semesters. When I enrolled I was sold on that premise that it was an excellent school to do a career change. Upon graduation, there was no information on how to take the national certification test - told that professionals should find that out themselves. The Graduate Career Placement office has been of no assistance. Met with them and given the standard sales pitch on the economy and how I need to volunteer to get my foot in the door. Apparently, they do not have all of the relationships in the community that they say they do. Thankfully, I was able to find employment on my own in another field (not what I went to school for). When this employer did a background check, SWFC had "impounded" my records and would not verify that I had attended school there to my potential employer. This school is just interested in getting their $$$ and that's it. They don't care anything about the student and their success after school. I met a lot of good people their, including instructors - but the administration has a lot to be desired. There are other schools out there that will help you if you are thinking about going into the Medical Billing and Coding Field.
But, think twice - the market is saturated and it is very difficult to get into. Unless you have a medical background.

Write Your Review of Southwest Florida College

To get started, please select a rating from the drop down menu below. Reviews are subject to approval, and inappropriate or incendiary comments may be edited or rejected. All fields below are required.

Rate This School

Email

Review

I Accept the Terms of Use

Contact Information

General Contact

College Video

School Map




ACCEPTANCE RATE
nan%

FINANCIAL AID RATE
90%

STUDENT:TEACHER RATIO
12:1

DEGREES OFFERED ONLINE
14

FINANCIAL AID AWARD AVG.
$6,017