community-colleges

Reviews For Bluegrass Community and Technical College

470 Cooper Drive, Lexington, KY

3 out of 5 Stars (12 Reviews)

Bluegrass Community and Technical College Reviews

There are 12 reviews posted below for Bluegrass Community and Technical College. We encourage you to write your own review in order to assist possible future students of this school.

  • Reviewed on September 07, 2016 (Flag Review)
  • Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

Financial aid was no help, never could get ahold of a person
My certificate from this college stated associate of arts, never was signed by governor or dean , did not say what why study was in , I have received other degrees from other colleges and they were complete with what m course of study was and signed.

  • Reviewed on December 10, 2015 (Flag Review)
  • Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I have had nothing but good experiences at BCTC. Faculty goes out of their way to help students. I would recommend this school. As far as the people who gave bad reviews, this is college and teachers do not have time to hold your hand.

  • Reviewed on September 08, 2014 (Flag Review)
  • Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

This school is not military or veteran-family friendly. Had I known this before I wouldn't have gone here. They have absolutely NO COMPASSION for military families and will not work with them when they are on limited income. They will lie just to get you to sign up and then say they never said or guaranteed anything.

  • Reviewed on September 29, 2013 (Flag Review)
  • Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

Ok, I am an honors student have completed nearly 60 credit hours here and am very close to my associates degree so my review is NOT based on poor grades because my academics are strong. I just want to say that this is the WORST school ever. Never has a semester gone smoothly. No one cares whether or not you succeed here, they are only concerned with money and you are nothing but a number to them. I too have gotten the run-around more times than I can ever count. If you have a question they will transfer you to someone else, and from there another department, and then another department, etc until you end up getting someone else's voicemail and leave a msg only to get a returned call (if you even do) a week later only to find out that you have been misrouted to the wrong department and they cannot answer your question. Everyone and department wants to pawn you off onto someone else because A). They are too busy and lazy to take the time to help and B). have no real knowledge of what they are really doing. Everyone contradicts eachother there and no one is on the same page. This is where you will spend hours getting the run-around without your questions being answered.
I started a class back in August and have attended every single class without missing one. I have actively participated and done each homework assignment to 100%. I've paid out of my own pocket for my books (while I was promised my financial aid would kick in). It is now close to midterm and I just learned that the school dropped me from my class as an accidental error on their part. The school is refusing to reinstate my class after all this time and effort. I've been to the Dean's office to discuss the matter and the Dean wasn't available to talk to.

  • Reviewed on June 25, 2013 (Flag Review)
  • Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

If you have no idea what you want to do you are will not be helped. the advisers will tell you to take random classes and they don't tell you why you should take them. You can't be that person who got their GED and didn't take the SAT or ACT test. The school started to remind me why I didn't finish high school. Being bounced from class to class without anyone really looking at what I could already do. I ended up quitting and going to another college. Ashford University Online is really good. at least they understood what it was that I wanted to study and assigned my classes based on that.

  • Reviewed on December 21, 2012 (Flag Review)
  • Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

I at bctc now just now getting notice of a sap a week before christmas on top of them automatically canceling my classes i have been here since 2008 with run arounds as to what classes to take, the professors do not care and treat students any kind of way, i am 36 credits short of my degree and i am denied finanical aid because i was not sure of what to major my freshman year. in all i had great days but more bad days froms the long lines and lies at the finanical aid office all the way to the business office.

  • Reviewed on December 11, 2012 (Flag Review)
  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Nothing but trouble! Every aspect is poorly run and poorly executed. I have not heard from my advisor in a year and there is basically nobody who answers or returns calls. I will not be taking any classes there again. I took many semesters of online classes and there seems to be a disproportionate amount of those instructors who favor the bully method of teaching. Don't ask questions and take what you get, possibly due to the lack of face to face interaction. I agree with the review about the lack of direction. There seems to be nobody interested in whether you ever graduate or how you make that happen. I still have no idea what I am supposed to be taking. You feel like you are treading water and slowly going under with no help. This review is not due to bad grades on my part. A 96 is the lowest final grade I have received in any class. No sour grapes due to grades! Horrible institution!

  • Reviewed on August 10, 2012 (Flag Review)
  • Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

I am currently a bctc student and have been for about 3 years. Usually a associates degree like they offer only takes 2 years and because of how they have thrown me around from different advisors who have no clue what my goal is or where I have been to get where I am now have caused me to take many classes I didn't need. In the long run costing me more money and more time. I have many issues with the college including the unknowledgeable office staff who seem to be too busy to help or push you off on someone else who doesn't understand your question. I have also had instructors that talk down to students when they don't understand the material or have the wrong answers for homework assignments or quizzes. There has also been problems with correct grading on academic history such as when courses are done you can come out of the class with a "C" then next thing you know you have an "E" in the course and no one can tell you why. This overall for me has been a terrible college experience and very discouraging to stay in college to finish my degree. But then again the unhelpful staff who already have their degrees and have a paying job could careless about what happens to any of the students. I would not recommend anyone to BCTCS who wants to get a useful degree in a reasonable amount of time with help along the way.

  • Reviewed on May 07, 2012 (Flag Review)
  • Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

BCTC has its pros and cons like any college. They are very affordable in comparison to other similar institutions, especially if you are going for specific courses or training. There is a broad, available curriculum of both in school and online courses. I like the availability of multiple campuses in the region. The online courses were extremely beneficial for me as I worked full time the entire time I was in college. However, if you are going to attend online you must be disciplined and dedicated to carving out time specifically for it.

The financial aid process there is a foaming, stressful mess, still filled with long lines and precarious misinformation. When I went there I had to battle tooth and nail every semester to insure I had my required classes covered. I had to petition the college on two specific occasions with 40 pages of paperwork arguing that my degree progress was on point. Either I didn’t have enough hours, or too many. Either way, they need to restructure this particular department. I’m pretty sure there were funds I was awarded that I didn’t get completely dispersed to me due to questionable practices. If you can save up to go, setting up a payment plan, you may be better off.

Registering online can be a pain because not all of the technicalities have been ironed out from their online system. If you qualify to take a course but something doesn’t quite match up, or you have legacy scores that need to apply, the system will refuse to enroll you in the course. Then you have to get someone from the department involved in order to enroll you. I recommend having the advisor place you in the courses you need WHILE doing the advising, not after.

Advising is another issue. I’ve encountered many other students who were ensnared in the same trap of just wanting to finish an AA or AS (in order to transfer elsewhere) and being told completely different requirements in order to complete one. These AA & AS outlines change almost yearly, making the requirements very confusing to everyone. I had one occasion where I was certain I needed a single math hour requirement to finish my AS. So I did what any student should do, I went to three different advisors to confirm it. I was told by one she didn’t know, another said not to worry about it, and another said I did need it. I caved and finally forced someone to place me in it until I got a final answer. Thankfully I did because it would have cost me yet another semester if not. The general advising there is executed poorly, as there is so much misinformation regarding requirements.

I’d recommend BCTC for one of the following: 1. Taking the least required bare minimum and transferring to a four year. 2. Going to complete vocational training such as nursing, radiology tech, dental hygienist, welding, surgery tech, etc. 3. Taking the majority of your requirements online or in class that you know you may struggle with and that are more expensive at a university. I’ve known a few people to take their math requirements or foreign languages there because the smaller class environment and less expense help in the long run. Just be sure the credits you take will transfer to your desired 4 year (if that is your path) beforehand.

  • Reviewed on April 10, 2012 (Flag Review)
  • Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

I also am a current student and am having nothing but trouble with the financial aid office. The teachers are great but it's hard to focus on your studies when you have to constantly battle the administration of this school. The registrar doesn't seem to communicate with the financial aid office. The records office doesn't communicate with admissions, etc. The left hand does not know what the right hand is doing. You will receive letters in the mail which contain blanket statements and you will not receive clear communication even upon request. I just recently received a letter informing me of my graduation but I am currently taking prerequisites.

  • Reviewed on January 30, 2012 (Flag Review)
  • Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

This school is great, I would just assume the previous reviewer had a bad experience as my experience here was great. BCTC offers classes at a good price compared to other technical colleges and you get the same if not better education. I would recommend this school to others.

  • Reviewed on December 14, 2011 (Flag Review)
  • Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

I am a current BCTC student, my very first semester I was kicked out for two weeks because I didn't receive my financial aid money. This semester I received a D because I missed four days while in the hospital at the birth of my child. When I brought in the birth certificate I was told I would be fine, however now at the end of the semester I am told that I was excused on those days but the points for being there count against me. I found this odd considering in a previous semester I had a family member pass away but those points for those days didn't count against me.

Write Your Review of Bluegrass Community and Technical College

To get started, please select a rating from the drop down menu below. Reviews are subject to approval, and inappropriate or incendiary comments may be edited or rejected. All fields below are required.

Rate This School

Email

Review

I Accept the Terms of Use

Contact Information

General Contact

Admissions Office

Financial Aid Office

College Video

School Map




ACCEPTANCE RATE
nan%

FINANCIAL AID RATE
92%

STUDENT:TEACHER RATIO
19:1

DEGREES OFFERED ONLINE
66

FINANCIAL AID AWARD AVG.
$3,437