community-colleges

Reviews For Florida State College at Jacksonville

501 W State St, Jacksonville, FL

4 out of 5 Stars (9 Reviews)

Florida State College at Jacksonville (FSCJ) Reviews

There are 9 reviews posted below for Florida State College at Jacksonville. We encourage you to write your own review in order to assist possible future students of this school.

  • Reviewed on September 26, 2017 (Flag Review)
  • Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

I applied to go to school almost a year ago and still have not taken a class. every trip on to talk to an advisor there was something new causing delay, excuses that they were transitioning from connections to myfscj portal was brought up a lot, as soon as you challenge them that you are not happy with service they cut off communication Reginald robinson and may mason are the worst advisors I have ever dealt with they will talk down to you and make a lot of excuses if you get to talk to them... all I want to do is take classes but clearly they don't care one bit. on a side not Darrell in the engineering department was very helpful I wish I could get ahold of him again.

  • Reviewed on March 09, 2017 (Flag Review)
  • Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

I completed the OTA program at FSCJ north campus. The campus was great. However, the OTA program was disorganized, and it seemed like all they cared about was the reputation of the program. The professors were okay, but I felt more training needs to be done.

  • Reviewed on September 12, 2014 (Flag Review)
  • Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

I enrolled in FSCJ in 2011 knowing what I wanted to do and signed up or I thought for a specific A.S. degree right off. I was signed up for an A.A., It was later changed to the wrong program of study, and finally I guess someone fixed my program of study to the right one. Then I couldn't sign up for any classes because they weren't available so I went to the dean of my program only to find out that my degree had been revised a year before but no one told me so I unknowingly took 4 classes that didn't even apply to my degree and they added 7 classes. Did I mention that I was one term away from graduating when I found this out. The addition pushed my graduation date back a year. Now I can't sign up for the classes I want because of low enrollment.

  • Reviewed on August 23, 2014 (Flag Review)
  • Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

I was motivated to write this review after receiving a phone call the Saturday before the start of classes (Monday) saying that one of my classes will be shortened by 4 weeks, but one hour will be added to it's class-time, causing it to conflict with my only other class. They told me this literally two days before the semester begins. After I already paid, of course. I have also heard of classes being cancelled completely on short notice.

  • Reviewed on August 15, 2014 (Flag Review)
  • Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

Ive been going to FSCJ for some years now, and the quality of teachers has gone down recently, professors here are the lowest paid in the state(Fact, they will also remind you of this in class periodically) so they usually teach somewhere else, as a result almost no teacher will go an extra inch to help you even if they know its simple and the difference between a B and an A because they have so much coursework to handle. I once found myself being taught by a high school teacher, not saying their less of a teacher, but I feel like if im paying, I should atleast get a dedicated college professor.

  • Reviewed on January 23, 2013 (Flag Review)
  • Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I'm a current student in Aviation (flight technology) The school is great and the instructors are the best. I looked at the other big aviation schools(too much money) This is a the school to go to if you want to fly. The classes are small and everyone is willing to go the extra mile to help.

  • Reviewed on May 05, 2012 (Flag Review)
  • Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I am rating Florida Junior College. I began the day it opened in August of 1966. Tuition was $100.00 for a full-time student, regardless of the number of hours taken, so the books usually cost more than the tuition. I recall the name of every instructor and professor, and they were first-class! Most, if not all, of the instructors had already worked on their Ph.D., and had fairly recently taken the courses they were teaching. I heard, many times, that "I am not going to skip over what I forgot years ago," like at I at Yale, Loyola, U of F, or whatever college they came from. Our geology teacher's name could be found in all of the works of geology in that day. Since we had only a bit over 200 students, the old south campus (previously Southside Grammar) reminded me of Princeton University, a campus I had visited and found that Graduate Students were teaching freshman and sophomore classes. I chose FJC over Princeton!

I transferred to the University of South Florida due to a new Dept. of Astrophysics that supported the Apollo program, and, between the two, learned more than had I attended Princeton. These were the best years of my life. At USF, I was inducted into Gold Key and the Phi Kappa Phi National Honor Society.

Now 66 years old, I am thinking of taking a couple of courses. I audited astronomy in 1973, after I had a Master's Degree in the field, and it was very well-taught. I did not hear one error in the entire class. I would have put some of the employees from my company through UNF, but during their first year, while I was a student at USF, they showed me as being there! This has never been resolved. I ended up in advanced opto-electronic instrumentation, and have taken that into data centers, hospitals, on the railroad, etc. The sky simply became too washed out unless you wanted to live on top of a mountain.

  • Reviewed on March 04, 2012 (Flag Review)
  • Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

This school is the best! I went there 3 years ago and was able to transfer out no problems. I really helped me get through my undecided phase.

  • Reviewed on December 28, 2011 (Flag Review)
  • Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

This college is a great place to graduate from... I highly recommend it! FSCJ

Write Your Review of Florida State College at Jacksonville

To get started, please select a rating from the drop down menu below. Reviews are subject to approval, and inappropriate or incendiary comments may be edited or rejected. All fields below are required.

Rate This School

Email

Review

I Accept the Terms of Use

Contact Information

General Contact

Admissions Office

Financial Aid Office

College Video

School Map




ACCEPTANCE RATE
nan%

FINANCIAL AID RATE
77%

STUDENT:TEACHER RATIO
23:1

DEGREES OFFERED ONLINE
36

FINANCIAL AID AWARD AVG.
$3,959