cosmetology-schools

Reviews For Pinnacle Institute of Cosmetology

461 East Plaza Drive, Mooresville, NC

4 out of 5 Stars (20 Reviews)

Pinnacle Institute of Cosmetology Reviews

There are 20 reviews posted below for Pinnacle Institute of Cosmetology. We encourage you to write your own review in order to assist possible future students of this school.

  • Reviewed on March 21, 2013 (Flag Review)
  • Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

This comes from a student wanting to be truthful about what really happens. Yes, there are some good instructors but most want to get in your personal business and treat you like you exist when they need something. If you are a favorite then you have a good experience but if you are not a favorite then you are talked about and ignored.

  • Reviewed on February 26, 2013 (Flag Review)
  • Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I am currently a student at pinnacle and I would recommend any aspiring cosmetologist to attend here. The education is above and beyond most cosmetology schools and the staff has such a passion to teach and want all students to succeed.

  • Reviewed on February 26, 2013 (Flag Review)
  • Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I am a student attending pinnacle and the education is above and beyond most cosmetology schools. I am very advanced for how long I've been in school. The staff really enjoys teaching and they want all students to succeed. I recommend pinnacle for any aspiring cosmetologist.

  • Reviewed on February 21, 2013 (Flag Review)
  • Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I'm currently a student at Pinnacle and I love it. The instructors are very talented and are very helpful to their students. I cannot wait to start my career as a cosmetologist.

  • Reviewed on October 10, 2012 (Flag Review)
  • Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

okay guys. i just recently graduated, and i was there before and after all the so-called 'changes' were made. anyways, all of the new students were treated like royalty, when your a basic, your treated so well and when you move out onto the floor... you are just another person to make them money! i could take hours listing the things wrong with pinnacle, but i just don't have that kind of time. I'm not that person who writes reviews all of the time, in fact this is the first internet review i've ever typed... so that should speak for itself. i do not want another girl to waste a year, and 20,000 dollars to feel like shes nothing and hasn't learned anything. i wish i had paid attention to the reviews and explored my options. but the admissions lady, REALLY talks pinnacle up and makes it sound sooooo wonderful, but hey, that's what she gets paid for. let me just say that the drama is unbearable, from the students AND instructors. the instructors gossip with the students, ABOUT OTHER STUDENTS. its ridiculous, pinnacle will never be TRULY changed until they find a brand new staff. its been over a month since i've graduated and i still have no desire to find a job in this industry.

  • Reviewed on August 13, 2012 (Flag Review)
  • Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Otaaay fellas, lil ladies... Pinnacle granted me an amazing education during a major transition. We'd left Statesville and moved to Mooresville. Believe me it was crazy. I can say I received one of the best cosmetic educations available. My first year out of school I made 60k not counting tips. Mrs. Yandow was there for me when I reached that point of, "is this my passion?" Regardless I am reading all of these complaints and I can say I honestly remember you same girls... Though years ago there were always those people. I'm five minutes late. I didn't complete the required amount of this or that. Shut the hell up! I've worked with people from the Paul Mitch school, all of the community programs and guess what!?! Not one had a clue on maintaining client base, retail, uhhhhhh keeping up with trends! I have a license in this state, Florida and Arizona. All of my employers, high end mind you, are and always have been impressed with my ability. I will finish this off on one note, Casie maybe not being everyone's favorite taught me many things. I simply spoke like an adult to her and can say that she was an amazing teacher and I hope the best for her and all of her endeavors. This all coming from a former student who flourished from my education there. No I don't get ****** from this review! I haven't spoken to anyone there in years. Just saying if you want to LEARN this trade, Pinnacle is the place to go. Leave the catty crap behind, keep your head down as I did and take in what you can. Myself, Angela Batty can tell you personally it's well worth it. No more judgmental pricks with no want to learn from oths please. Guess what, in the industry everyone thinks they are better than you so shut up and prepare!

  • Reviewed on July 06, 2012 (Flag Review)
  • Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

I can say that I was a student when the former director was there and after she was gone and though some things have changed some have gotten worse. As a student now on the floor and the not so popular side I am treated poorly not by her but by instructors who lets just say have their favorites! That I can say has worsened since she has been gone. If you are one they like then you get special treatment but if you are not liked or part of the fun crowd then you feel less of a person. And too since she has been gone its even harder to find help from an instructor when you need it. I had the former director teach me in my basics class some and the difference in the amount she taught us was crazy good and I was glad to have that time. She was honest on the first day about the rules and what to expect and what to do so in my opinion all the problems of people being treated poorly are not just from her because it is still happening, I bet a lot of these negative comments are from students who broke rules or started drama and the people making the changes need to watch more so we are not left alone looking for some instructors.

  • Reviewed on June 17, 2012 (Flag Review)
  • Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I agree with all of the new reviews of the school, the place has completely turned around since the recent change in management! The new students are actually receiving the tools they deserve for the money they are paying, the teachers are allowed to encourage us to be creative, and we have fun competitions and events to boost morale weekly. :) I'm in love with this place now, and it will actually be bittersweet when I leave, as opposed to 2 mths ago when I hated every day and went with a lump in my throat and disdain in my heart. I would definitely recommend anyone to go here!! Also, to the person 2 below me, yes we have an incentive to refer people now, but Internet websites are anonymous, anyone who made their decision to go to PIC based on these reviews wouldn't even know who to say recommended her. We're actually writing this because we feel it :)

  • Reviewed on May 24, 2012 (Flag Review)
  • Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Maybe the last comment should be reminded that we are trying to rebuild a school that has been dogged on the internet because of one woman and now she is gone. we have the wonderful mr. Steve now and we are all trying our best to change pinnacle's reputation because every bad thing that was ever said was because of a previous faculty member.

  • Reviewed on April 23, 2012 (Flag Review)
  • Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Take in to consideration that the students are now being incentivized to win an iPad for referring 3 people to come to the school. If that says anything.

  • Reviewed on April 13, 2012 (Flag Review)
  • Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Pinnacle is awesome! I love it here!!!!!

  • Reviewed on April 12, 2012 (Flag Review)
  • Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Ok here we go! Hopefully the negative reviews below will soon be outnumbered by positive because PIC is a new and better place to be now that the former director, Casie Dyson, has been dismissed.

That's right folks! Many of us students, and probably staff too, are relieved and refreshed at the owners' decision to bring in our new/wonderful director who in the past 4 weeks has done a fantastic job at turning things around. It's truly amazing what great things can happen when people are now allowed to have ideas, feel important, encouraged to be creative, and celebrated for their achievements. These things did not happen when Casie Dyson was in charge but wow what a difference now!

To be clear, Pinnacle has always been celebrated for providing a solid education in the field of cosmetology which is why I chose to attend here, even despite already completing more than 700 hours at another school. The education portion of the school has never failed to deliver and I have never regretted my choice to start over because I know that in the end I will be a better for it. The instructors are amazing and always have been. They are passionate about the field, really "up" on all the latest trends in hair, and truly want to see the students succeed. It's evident that the new change in leadership has had a positive impact on the instructors too!

If you are looking for a fantastic education that will put you years ahead of most others in the industry, there has never been a better time to attend PIC! I am so grateful to have such wonderful and compassionate teachers, and I am now more excited than ever to come to school everyday and be surrounded by my fellow students/friends and clients. If you had reservations about attending PIC because of what you had heard or read regarding the director.....put your mind at ease and know that things are different and changes have been made for the better so you have nothing to fear and your time and money will be well spent!

One last thing. No one is paying me to write this...lol, and 5 weeks ago I would have been inclined to write a negative review that was just as long and just as passionate. So I guess this is just an example of what can happen when people stand up for what is right and good and take steps to make things better for others and themselves.

It's a new day at Pinnacle so put any fears to rest....if Cosmetology is your passion, PIC should be your #1 choice for education! And if your still not sure, come see for yourself. You can get a great haircut, or mani/pedi, and just sit and feel the vibe!

  • Reviewed on April 12, 2012 (Flag Review)
  • Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Pinnacle is a great place to be. Everyone is excited to come to school and do hair. Everyone smiles and has new attitudes. Steve is great! The owner made the right choice!

  • Reviewed on April 12, 2012 (Flag Review)
  • Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I love my school! Everyday the past month has been so rewarding. I love my instructors and clients and new administration. Cosmetology is my calling and everyday I'm reminded of that. Thank you so much pinnacle for igniting my passion and all your support in recent times.

  • Reviewed on April 12, 2012 (Flag Review)
  • Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Let's be honest when I started this school almost a year ago it was pure torture. Always in trouble for absolutely nothing scared to ask questions and hated everyday but already 20000 dollars deep so I had to finish. I'm almost finished with school now there have been several changes n the last few months. I love it at pinnacle now. I feel like I'm finally being heard. Th instructors are amazing and I really feel prepared to take my new skills to the real world. Thank you Pinnacle for hearing our cries. I'm sad to go!

  • Reviewed on April 12, 2012 (Flag Review)
  • Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Mr. Anderson has brought in a new Director. Many helpful changes are being made. I am very happy with these changes. I will sincerely recommend to others now.

  • Reviewed on April 12, 2012 (Flag Review)
  • Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I love Pinnacle I'm graduating in 2 months and I'm going to miss all the teachers and students:(

  • Reviewed on July 09, 2011 (Flag Review)
  • Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I disagree. I keep seeing all of these horrible reviews and I think its ridiculous.

I personally feel like I'm getting an amazing education here. After touring all the schools in the Charlotte area I definitely think this was one of the best and it was less expensive.
Yes, it is very strict but that's the kind of environment you need to learn the most you can. Simply follow the rules, do what you're supposed to do, show up on time and don't miss days, and don't get on anyone's bad side. Also be sure not to get caught up in drama, it WILL come back on you. It's a school of almost all girls, enough said.

If you use common sense and do these things you'll get a ton out of coming here and you won't regret it.

  • Reviewed on March 10, 2011 (Flag Review)
  • Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

I completely agree with both reviews they are constantly changing rules day to day and very unorganized.

  • Reviewed on December 20, 2010 (Flag Review)
  • Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Loved the people I met, but the school makes you not even want to do hair.

Write Your Review of Pinnacle Institute of Cosmetology

To get started, please select a rating from the drop down menu below. Reviews are subject to approval, and inappropriate or incendiary comments may be edited or rejected. All fields below are required.

Rate This School

Email

Review

I Accept the Terms of Use

Contact Information

General Contact

School Map




ACCEPTANCE RATE
nan%

FINANCIAL AID RATE
76%

STUDENT:TEACHER RATIO
8:1

FINANCIAL AID AWARD AVG.
$3,911