healthcare-nursing-schools

Reviews For Albany College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences

106 New Scotland Avenue, Albany, NY

4 out of 5 Stars (14 Reviews)

Albany College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences Reviews

There are 14 reviews posted below for Albany College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences. We encourage you to write your own review in order to assist possible future students of this school.

  • Reviewed on March 05, 2018 (Flag Review)
  • Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

ACPHS is a very academically focused school. Its small size and closeness to downtown Albany make it an ideal school. And even though it is small in size, it offers many opportunities on campus and in the community.

  • Reviewed on March 05, 2018 (Flag Review)
  • Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

ACPHS was a great choice to complete schooling for my PharmD. I chose the 0-6 year program straight out of high school which I highly recommend if you know from the start that pharmacy is what you want to do. The staff and students are very helpful and friendly. Additionally, Albany is a beautiful place and there are a lot of things to do here on campus. It is also very possible to play a collegiate sport and participate in extracurricular activities while still doing well in school.

  • Reviewed on February 21, 2018 (Flag Review)
  • Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Overall, I have enjoyed my years so far at ACPHS. I am a third year Pharm. D and hope to enter the infectious disease field. ACPHS has provided ample opportunity for me to bulk up my resume or to get involved in research. The small campus population allows this, and is nice for a close community. Since we are all here as science majors, we understand each others work load and broad goals. It's very easy to get in touch with professors. Usually there is one professor per semester whose teaching style I don't enjoy, but I think that would be true at any college. The college could improve on the second year living, food options and administrative consideration of student opinion.

  • Reviewed on January 31, 2018 (Flag Review)
  • Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

I am a 4th year student at ACPHS, and love this school. There are so many opportunities for you to be involved but also to succeed! I love the close knit-community that makes up our campus, everyone is willing to help everyone, no competition or feeling like you are alone through your many years here. The faculty and professors here are inspirations In addition to meeting and have interesting backgrounds and experience in many different areas. amazing faculty and staff, you will also meet amazing students that are from not only all over the country, but the world too! I have made friends here, and in the course of 4 years we have been through everything together and they are truly my support system.

  • Reviewed on January 31, 2018 (Flag Review)
  • Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

ACPHS is a pretty small school, but I went to a high school with a graduating class of 114, so I felt like this was big enough for me to not get overwhelmed. I was excited to enter campus, and there were a number of events on and off campus. ACPHS is also located in downtown Albany, close to Washington Park, and many nearby attractions. There are a number of different kinds of restaurants located nearby, so delivering food is always easy. ACPHS really helped me get out of my shell, especially because I was so shy in high school. I really have enjoyed my time here, and can't wait to continue the PharmD program here!

  • Reviewed on January 09, 2018 (Flag Review)
  • Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

ACPHS is an excellent healthcare school. I am currently going into the spring semester of my second year here as a Bachelor's of Pharmaceutical Sciences student. The school has a very small student population, a little over 1500 in total, and it's very tight-knit because of this. We are a compact campus on a hill right in the heart of Albany and practically surrounded by Albany Medical center, St. Peter's Hospital, and a VA hospital.

For positives: the atmosphere around campus is highly success-driven and very supportive; the school has a ton of offices devoted to student engagement and success, so if you use these resources you'll never fall behind in your studies; the professors are generally excellent and successful in their field of study; the classrooms, lecture halls, and dormitories are all really nice; the food is quite good, though lacking in variety; there are many clubs and sports here despite the small size so getting involved is really easy and many students are accordingly involved in many clubs and organizations.

The only negatives I have to say about my experience here so far is that, as a BS student, the school is highly focused on the Pharmacy students, since they represent about 80% of the student population. Also, the school's top administration lacks the communication skills to adequately explain their vision for the school's future and they seem uncaring about the personal desires of the faculty, staff, and students. It seems as though they have a distinct vision for ACPHS's future, but they don't really tell us what is going on until things are already in motion and have been done.

Overall, the advice I have to give to anyone interested in ACPHS is to be sure about wanting to go into the healthcare field. Because the profession is so important, the academics here are focused and rigorous. If you aren't sure that healthcare is the choice for you, then you will not be served well by our targeted programs. We just don't have academic options for people uninteresting in healthcare and its supporting fields. I love it here despite any of the school's problems, and I haven't ever regretted choosing ACPHS. It is a fantastic school with tremendous students, faculty, and academics and that is what's most important to me.

  • Reviewed on December 21, 2017 (Flag Review)
  • Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

This college has allowed me to achieve my dreams of becoming a clinical pharmacist. It has provided me with a rigorous program, that is preparing me for my future in the professional world. I cannot imagine picking any other college!

  • Reviewed on December 19, 2017 (Flag Review)
  • Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Albany College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences is the perfect school to pursue a pharmacy degree or any degree in the medical field. I am currently a 3rd year Pharmacy student (P1) and I can truly say that I am extremely satisfied with my decision in choosing ACPHS as the school to pursue my dream career. The reason I chose ACPHS was because of the opportunities they provide that allow one-on-one attention, allows building relationships with faculty as well as making connections for research opportunities or even future career opportunities. One thing that stands out to me about ACPHS is the tight-knit community. Most professors remember you by name. They refer to you in class by your name, which at most schools is not the case. The school is dedicated to excellence and offers great emphasis on not only academics but also on building professionalism for future careers. They teach you skills and assets that are crucial to the success for each and every single career path. The college also has many clubs and organizations to offer.

  • Reviewed on December 05, 2017 (Flag Review)
  • Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I really recommend this college! I love how it is a small campus and you get to really know the friendly faculties. All the professors really know their topics and are always more than happy to help you succeed. The curriculum for the Doctor of Pharmacy program is well designed and it really prepares me well for my future career as a pharmacist. If you are looking for a small school with strong science programs, this is the perfect school for you!

  • Reviewed on December 04, 2017 (Flag Review)
  • Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

I chose this school based off the small campus feel. I was looking for a college that didn't have a far walk from each building and small classroom sizes. ACPHS offers a comfortable and friendly environment all over campus. Professors are always willing to help students out, there's resources in tutoring, academic services, and clinicians who offer guidance about everything and everything. The key selling point for me was how nice all the dorms are. They're spacious, amenities included, free laundry in all buildings, and cars are allowed on campus starting freshman year. I'm so happy with my choice of coming here and have enjoyed all my years spent at my home away from home.

  • Reviewed on October 23, 2017 (Flag Review)
  • Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

I love ACPHS. The close knit community feeling is great with such difficult curriculum. Going here I know my degree will prepare me for a successful life!

  • Reviewed on October 16, 2017 (Flag Review)
  • Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

The teachers are amazing, they truly want to see you succeed! The specific science courses and degree standards prepare students for their professions. Labs are up to date with all equipment necessary.

  • Reviewed on October 12, 2017 (Flag Review)
  • Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

I am a 3rd year in the B.S. Pharmaceutical Sciences. I chose this school due to its opportunities in research. The summer after my second year I was able to work in one of our clinical sciences labs and continue through the school year. It has provided me with necessary skills that I will need in my career and will help me stand out compared to my peers when applying to internships/jobs. ACPHS also has many Professional Organizations and Clubs that allow leadership. This year I am President Elect of the American Association of Pharmaceutical Scientists - ACPHS student chapter and Director of Student Ambassadors, on top of general membership to other fun clubs.

  • Reviewed on October 10, 2017 (Flag Review)
  • Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

I am a 4th year student at ACPHS. I chose ACPHS for the small campus feel; everyone on campus tends to know each other. In addition, even though we are a small campus, there are so many resources and opportunities for the students. The administration emphasizes the importance of academics, and a lot of the resources are geared towards academic success (ie. Writing Center, Science Assistance Center, Tutoring Service, etc). Apart from academics, there are a plethora of clubs/organizations students can be a part of. I think ACPHS is a great school that is always trying to improve for the benefits for the students.

Write Your Review of Albany College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences

To get started, please select a rating from the drop down menu below. Reviews are subject to approval, and inappropriate or incendiary comments may be edited or rejected. All fields below are required.

Rate This School

Email

Review

I Accept the Terms of Use

Contact Information

General Contact

Admissions Office

Financial Aid Office

School Map




ACCEPTANCE RATE
65.87%

FINANCIAL AID RATE
100%

STUDENT:TEACHER RATIO
9:1

FINANCIAL AID AWARD AVG.
$10,568