healthcare-nursing-schools

Reviews For California Career College

7003 Owensmouth Avenue, Canoga Park, CA

3 out of 5 Stars (19 Reviews)

California Career College Reviews

There are 19 reviews posted below for California Career College. We encourage you to write your own review in order to assist possible future students of this school.

  • Reviewed on August 24, 2014 (Flag Review)
  • Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

I forgot to add this to my previous review: I didn't give a rating of 4 or 5 to the school, because I always think that there is room for improvement.

  • Reviewed on August 24, 2014 (Flag Review)
  • Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

I took NCLEX a few weeks ago and passed on my first try. LVN is a very intensive program, you need to put in a lot of effort (nobody else could do it for you). It requires a lot of hard work, dedication, perseverance, and be extremely resourceful. If you don't study you will fail, as simple as that. The school gives you the tools, you need to use them. I've seen many students who want everything easy, but NCLEX is not easy. Good Luck!

  • Reviewed on June 26, 2014 (Flag Review)
  • Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Students should focus on their personal gains, not what others are doing or saying. You are doomed for failure if you focus on the weak points of the school. I graduated from here 7 years ago. Best experience and more hands-on instructors. Keep your eye on the ball.

  • Reviewed on May 17, 2013 (Flag Review)
  • Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Nursing is an extremely difficult field to go into and requires a great amount of studying and dedication. The school is a resource for the students and CCC does a great job of providing excellent instructors, various clinical sites and computers to practice for the nclex exam. The 18 month course is rigorous and if you are looking for a school that will push you to succeed CCC is the answer!

  • Reviewed on April 30, 2013 (Flag Review)
  • Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

So far what I've gotten from these reviews on here is that these people who have commented did not do the work expected, did not pass and could not manage the work load. I am currently a student. I have absolutely not one negative thing to say about this program. They have teachers who teach and clinical instructors who are tough but they want you to succeed and learn. If you think an RN is going to go easy on you and put her license on the line for a student you might as well quit now. They expect you to study, to read, to learn and if you are just twiddling your thumbs expecting it to come to you, then you will never succeed and never pass. These teachers aren't here to hold your hand. They are hear to stear you in the right direction. The price of the school is reasonable relative to other schools. And let me tell you, there isn't one technical school that has no bad reviews. Those reviews come from those who don't do the work and become upset when success doesn't miraculously drop in their lap. So if you're looking for an easy way to get through a nursing program look for an easier career path like a cashier at McDonald's. You won't find it anywhere. Not even in a 4 year RN school. Nursing school is supposed to be hard, not a walk in the park. If you want to become successful then embrace the education you get here. Study, be ready for tests and don't complain because it's not their fault it's yours. Everyone at this school has been great.

  • Reviewed on April 25, 2013 (Flag Review)
  • Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

An 18 month program in ANY field takes time and dedication. I have friends who are in different nursing programs and are undergoing the same problems. So no, these students are not failing because of the school; they are failing because they are unmotivated or simply do not study. This school is reasonably priced with the same education you would receive elsewhere, if not better. I would recommend this school to anyone who is looking for a career in nursing, but I will warn them that it is HARD work. If you're looking for an easy degree and an easy way out, this is not the school for you. However, if you're looking for a school that will truly test your abilities and push you, California Career College is where you want to be.

  • Reviewed on February 06, 2013 (Flag Review)
  • Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Did not meet my expectations. Not very happy with everything.

  • Reviewed on January 07, 2013 (Flag Review)
  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Overall it's only 19k tuition compare to some other private school. The only thing that I didn't like about this school is that, teachers are horrible in terms of the way they teach a theory. One qualified teacher was replaced during third semesters by the owner and take over the class which it makes it very difficult for students to grasp an understanding on the discussion. Only 5 out of 25 students (barely) passed the finals. The clinical instructor is stuck-up and rude, considering that majority of the students there were hesitant to asks questions for that matter. Other than that, this school should be due for audit from the board of nursing and hopefully save the future nurses. I certainly not recommend this school to anyone. sorry.

  • Reviewed on January 04, 2013 (Flag Review)
  • Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

Homework and projects are not counted towards your grade. At the beginning of the school year we signed contracts that said we would get a hand book with every book to guide us. when I started asking for these hand books they said they were $50 each and they made us sign new contracts or we could not continue.

  • Reviewed on August 17, 2012 (Flag Review)
  • Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Hi, I graduated at the end of 2010. Becoming a nurse is very tough and requires motivation, dedication, patience, positive attitude, love, respect, humility and the fire inside that keeps you going. Each test is the toughest test you will ever take because this is how you study for all tests! It all depends on you and after you earn your license you say thank you and good bye! "Telling someone that you care will be the easiest thing you will ever do! Going out into the world to find the solution to that person's problems! Will be the toughest thing you will ever do." Good luck!

  • Reviewed on June 28, 2012 (Flag Review)
  • Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

This school has been great. I'm a current student and with hard work and discipline you will get far. Sad that the other comments are so negative. People need to forget about politics and focus on their education. If you don't work hard, study, and put your effort to learn and make good grades obviously you won't learn anything. If you want a babysitting school that gives you all the answers this is not the school for you. If you want a school that pushes you to be the best then look no further!

  • Reviewed on June 08, 2012 (Flag Review)
  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

The people who work there were either mob-spirited or just plain imbeciles. They'll say one thing to you about your tuition fees and then refused to remember everything what they have said the next day -if you ask them.. thus you ended up paying inaccurate amount. seeking an explanation from them does more harm than good and they will use their position to further their right-to-life agenda to suppress you. Thanks for playing your games california career College. We wish you the best of your future business on scamming students.

  • Reviewed on April 08, 2012 (Flag Review)
  • Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

I've never had any complaints from any school attended. I had one nursing instructor who was, to put it kindly, on a power and ego trip. No matter what the students did in clinical (creating nursing care plans, etc.) it was incorrect.

  • Reviewed on March 30, 2012 (Flag Review)
  • Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

I'm a recent graduate from this school. I'm very thankful that I made it throughout the program but I am not happy with this school during my entire semesters. Its a rat place. It took me several months before I was hired for a job because of their bad reputation and building value in emerging students. They are very gimmicky and bad spirited - both the instructors and owners alike. Its sad living a bad feedback for a school, but they really need to do some drastic change as far as treating students like customers In lieu of treating and mishandling them like a rats in a maze. But, until then, this feedback will remain visible to anyone curious about this school and it will not remove until I start seeing good and positive results from genuine students.

  • Reviewed on March 24, 2012 (Flag Review)
  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

It's a fast face program but they teach very poorly and it's very stressful especially being around with grown a....ss men and women students who act and think just like High school

  • Reviewed on March 23, 2012 (Flag Review)
  • Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

Instructors have no discipline. they simply failed to maintain appropriate boundaries and professionalism when dealing with stressed students. Unprofessional conduct by faculty and instructors is protected by its own authority. Therefore, we students feel no such protection, and maintain that the current structure of education does more to harm students' virtue, confidence, and ethics, causing the students to cheat the exam as a part of coping mechanism. They also bypass reviewing the material in a stressful environment.

  • Reviewed on March 22, 2012 (Flag Review)
  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Not very happy with this school. Clinical instructor's are a bully and rude. Don't believe everything what you read bellow. It's too good to be true and I have never heard it from anyone who made with this such positive feedback about this school. And whoever who wrote these messages its obviously from by the staff. That's fallacy!

  • Reviewed on March 19, 2012 (Flag Review)
  • Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

I've been going to CCC and i am currently in my first semester fundamentals and we are only a class of 14 students. I very much recommend it. Yes, we all know this school is less expensive but you are really getting what you're paying for. If I could have gotten into a cheaper LVN program, with no wait list, and graduate in less than 18 months while working part time of course I would have gone for it. but for me, there were no other schools that could offer that. I would honestly recommend CCC to anyone who truly has a passion for nursing and at same time has to work and support self.

Like I mentioned before, you are getting what you're paying for. My fundamentals instructor is out of this world - absolutely top of the line. she helps us learn with her sweet but sarcastic approach. what i like about her is the way she handles each and every situation by putting herself in our shoes but she keeps reminding us that it is a fast paced program and work load is strenuous therefore college instructors will share their knowledge with you but rest the students input have to be at its max which i guess she is right. going to private college does not mean that the instructor will feed you. I have personally seen students with that approach and I think they are the ones who end up crying and complaining over each and every thing. I think my another favorite part, by far, are the other students. I have made life long friends here and after at least 4 months of going here I have never felt a cliche vibe or come in contact with rude students. They really become your family and everyone is in the same boat.

Some of the cons about this school are that they are very strict with the students conduct. They will not tolerate any kind of nonsense by any student. sometimes the office is very disorganized. you end up having to call the school numerous times for questions that should have been answered originally.

All in all, no school is perfect - but for me, I am happy with my decision and would recommend it. And as i keep going on with my semester ahead i will keep you all posted about my progress.

  • Reviewed on June 18, 2011 (Flag Review)
  • Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

I graduated from this school and wouldn't recommend anyone attend. The reputation for this school is real bad and finding a job, being a "California career college graduate" isn't fun. Many nursing homes and hospitals look down upon this school. All I can say, is this school is a scam that mentally and physically exhausts you.

Write Your Review of California Career College

To get started, please select a rating from the drop down menu below. Reviews are subject to approval, and inappropriate or incendiary comments may be edited or rejected. All fields below are required.

Rate This School

Email

Review

I Accept the Terms of Use

Contact Information

General Contact

Financial Aid Office

School Map




ACCEPTANCE RATE
nan%

STUDENT:TEACHER RATIO
7:1

FINANCIAL AID AWARD AVG.
$2,486