healthcare-nursing-schools

Reviews For Global Health College

6101 Stevenson Avenue, Alexandria, VA

3 out of 5 Stars (24 Reviews)

Global Health College Reviews

There are 24 reviews posted below for Global Health College. We encourage you to write your own review in order to assist possible future students of this school.

  • Reviewed on August 09, 2019 (Flag Review)
  • Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

I am an aspiring nurse, and all these reviews are keeping me scared to go here. It is the closest to me that offers associate degree, but man... I wish there's current reviews for this school.

  • Reviewed on September 10, 2018 (Flag Review)
  • Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Struggled at first but got things on track while at Global.

  • Reviewed on March 17, 2017 (Flag Review)
  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

This school don't believe in students at all. However, they do believe in money and ways to get money out of students. The school is not clean at all because they are not engage in the success of the students. They hire a professor he comes early but none of stuff from the office were there at 8:30 AM to give him a computer to start teaching the class. And the class itself start at 8:00AM. Is this a school or a money making place were students just waist there time, energy,money and get no result at the end. The worst part about the school is that they don't hide their unprofessionalism. None of the staff members there seems to now what is going on in the school. When students ask questions about any concern, none of the staff are about to help because the only answer they always have is "we don't know " or "we are not sure." The review people are writing are true about the school I can testify it. I left the school after I was cheated on my grade because they want to get money out of me. I did read the reviews before going to the school and I found it out myself. I am just glad I really left the school because this school is garbage and trash to called an education place. They are students in the school that are stuck there because they didn't know what they got themselves into. And would be ask money after money because they really want to graduate. I will not encourage even my worst enemy to go to this school. I really don't know why the Virginia board of Nursing don't close that place called school, with all the bad reviews about it. School with no tutor at all teachers are not always available to help student. They also have one unprofessional so called Cathy. A nurse wanna be who does the case study with the PN students boring class. She takes students to the lab to look slides under a microscope and she does not know how to use the microscope. She gets angry when students don't understand anything she's teaching. People should really not think of stepping foot into this school at all.

  • Reviewed on January 26, 2017 (Flag Review)
  • Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Ok, so I feel like the reviews on here are not entirely accurate. Here is the deal from my perspective: I graduated in 2014. I got a job offer before I even graduated, and started the month after graduation. My facility let me work as a graduate nurse until I passed boards, which I did 2 months later on my first try. In the mean time, I was on orientation, and allowed to care for very sick patients, and felt prepared to do so. The position I accepted was in a large academic hospital, in a busy ICU. I had to move out of state to get a job, because no one in Northern Virginia was willing to hire a new grad from a program that little people know about. The school is definitely money driven, but what school isn't? The classes are very expensive, but not super hard to pass like everyone on here is saying. Honestly, my nursing school experience sounds identical to my co-workers experience: it was hard because nursing school IS HARD. I'm glad there was some degree of difficulty, because that meant I was prepared to pass my NCLEX on the FIRST try. I believe the graduation rate is low because they accept people into the program who probably shouldn't be there. As in they probably do not have the aptitude to be in any RN program, but because they pay for the classes, they are allowed to attend. There was a certain professor who taught MS 2, who failed many, many students. I almost became a victim of her, but I worked my butt off, and it paid off because I passed her class. To be honest, that class will make or break most students in the program but you will be a better nurse because of it. The school does not tolerate tardiness during clinicals. They adhere to a strict dress code, and you must be there ON TIME. Not 5 minutes late, but ON TIME. Unfortunately that was a difficult concept for some to understand. Then they failed, and had to pay for the expensive classes again, and got upset. Sorry, but that if your fault. I will say that the school was a little shady about telling you about "other" fees. Like the ATI costs, uniforms, and lame nursing package (ugly stethoscope, useless materials) but the ATI was very useful for preparing for boards, and I got over the ugly stethoscope and uniforms when I graduated and got a job. Just hoops I had to jump through to get to where I am today. Also, if your end goal is to be a NP or CRNA...beware. The credits are very difficult (not impossible) to transfer to another institution. Currently, I am a Staff Nurse in a Trauma/Burn/Surgical ICU at a Level I, academic hospital. I am nationally certified (Critical Care Registered Nurse or CCRN), am plan on sitting for another certification soon. The school is a bit nontraditional, but it is what you make of it. There are many students who have graduated passed boards, and gone on to be staff nurses in hospital in Virginia (that I know personally), so don't let that stop you from attending. It's a decent school. It's NOT an easy school, but you WILL be prepared for NCLEX.

  • Reviewed on January 14, 2017 (Flag Review)
  • Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Do a good research, if you visit the school for any reason ask tough questions when you are trying to apply. Ask them for their graduation rate, ask them about their retention rate, ask them the NCLEX passing rate.

  • Reviewed on January 09, 2017 (Flag Review)
  • Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I graduate ghnts in 07/2009 for my and. I passed my boards. What I can say is this. those of us who knew what we wanted and was willing to do what we have to do passed and those that didn't failed. Mrs. Kargbo is just very serious about her craft. She is no different from other nursing programs. The problem is because she is an African woman. People are expecting leeway. Its business. Her classes are tough very tough, however I have yet to meet anyone who said nursing is easy. I learned a lot and put in a position where I am working for the best hospital in the nations. I was able to graduate with Bsn when the RN program was not accredited yet. It was approved. If you want an easy way out then yes don't go here. But if you really want to be a nurse than you will do whatever that is necessary like the rest of us.

  • Reviewed on November 04, 2016 (Flag Review)
  • Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Educational standards, expensive classes credits, good student services.

  • Reviewed on June 25, 2016 (Flag Review)
  • Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

i graduated from this school in August 2014 from the RN program, i recommended this school to a lot of people PN as well as RN, and those who followed my path there did not regret, they actually graduated and passed NCLEX. I strongly believe that people putting bad reviews here are those who failed and now try to scapegoat the school. As terrible as it can be when one fails, try to look for reasons as to why you failed instead of playing the blame game, i would recommend the school to anyone who want to learn truly and become a nurse by heart, i say that from the bottom of my heart

  • Reviewed on May 20, 2016 (Flag Review)
  • Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Global Health College is credited by ACICS. It if one of the few good schools here in Virginia. The bad reviews come from students who have failed, or have been suspended because of bad grades. One has to have B and above to pass each course at Global, they do not take any transfer from other school if the grade is C. So you can tell how Global operates. This is a good school

  • Reviewed on August 28, 2015 (Flag Review)
  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

This is the worst school. Please go to another college. This school just wants your money. It is a waste of money and you don't learn a thing. The staff is very rude.

  • Reviewed on April 21, 2015 (Flag Review)
  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Just letting you know that every review you have seen here is 100% true. Can you imagine students are struggling to make their grades? And the instructor brings an exam with 100 questions and 12 extra credit stating there is a catch. And the catch is you have to get 75/100 correct in order for her to grade the extra credit. My question is: are you trying to pass students or trying to fail them? I have regretted my decision to enroll here and this instructor behaves like she owns the world. There are people who are taking MS 2 for the third time. The Instructor passes the students she likes who often cheat their way through exams. Please don't put yourself in this mess. But they should watch out They will be reported to the education board for an investigation.

  • Reviewed on March 09, 2015 (Flag Review)
  • Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I received my PN Diploma and RN Associate Degree from Global Health College. I knew Global Health College was for me the minute I met with the welcoming and helpful Admissions team. The Practical Nurse Program was difficult but rewarding. I liked the curriculum which combined theory and "hands-on" practical experience working with some of the top hospitals in the DC metro area. The RN Program instructors were amazing educators but also thoughtful mentors. Each instructor I had believed in me and my potential encouraging me every step of the way. The education I received at Global Health College has made me who I am today...a competent and passionate OB/GYN nurse who enjoys making a difference in patients' lives every day.

  • Reviewed on October 11, 2014 (Flag Review)
  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

I wasted my money by coming here. The faculty and students are treated very poorly. I know the Dept. of Education is investigating the school. The RN program isn't accredited which means you can't get a license. DON'T destroy your future by coming here!

  • Reviewed on September 22, 2014 (Flag Review)
  • Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

This school is money driven. You have to pass each class with 80% or better. If you don't get an 80% you fail and you will have to pay CASH to re-enroll. Some girls have had to pay $2500 out of pocket to return to school. No payment plan. You can't miss any exams, no matter what! A lady's husband died and she had to take the test or get a zero. They don't care. Students can't be 4 minutes late to the clinical setting without having to pay $150. The student will be turned away for the day and the student will still have to make up the hours. There are tests that are given called ATI exams. The school doesn't tell you but you have to pay out of pocket for that too. $300. If you do not receive a grade of 90% on this computerized ATI exam they give you a zero for the exam. Staff are leaving left and right because they know that this school isn't right. You may not receive your text book until the 3rd day of class. What use is it then after assignments have been given. The library is tiny. It opens too late. The bathrooms are NASTY! They accept anybody into the school. Ghetto, loud, rude you name it and they are there. And did I mention they are unorganized, for those of us who have children we need a schedule to be able to arrange for care for our children. These people don't care. They change schedules so often it leaves people in a tight spot all the time. Don't ask any questions about the schedule, nobody ever knows which way is which. As far as nursing and learning what needs to be learned I will give it to them, most of the instructors are very knowledgeable about nursing! but don't ask them anything pertaining to a schedule for upcoming weeks because they are ALWAYS as lost as we are! We try not to stress about their antics at global. At the end of the day if you focus it's possible to make it through, but there will be many unnecessary hurdles if you choose this school.

  • Reviewed on September 17, 2014 (Flag Review)
  • Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The school is good. It lets you work for your degree. People just oppose it because they are failing badly.

  • Reviewed on August 14, 2014 (Flag Review)
  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Run, run, run! Don't waste your time or money!

  • Reviewed on August 04, 2014 (Flag Review)
  • Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

I'm not a student in this school. I'm a registered nurse and have friends in this program. The vibe I have gotten has been very negative. A teacher will tell students the priority emergency test for a patient with GI bleed is an endoscopy as opposed to H/H. Don't you want to know if this patient will need blood and start administering the blood before you find a GI doctor to do an endoscopy.
An average student in this school spends 2 semesters taking med surg 1 and 3 semesters taking med surg 2. Their teacher leaves her Med surg 2 class and goes to the pre nursing A

  • Reviewed on July 24, 2013 (Flag Review)
  • Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Best teachers by far. Standard education. A lot better than community college!

  • Reviewed on July 02, 2013 (Flag Review)
  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

This school is a complete rip off. They change their minds every day about whether or not they will have class. They claim that the lpn program is only 1 year long but I have been in since August of 2012. they plan on letting us graduating in November of 2013, but they still talk about extending the program. They force you to do volunteer work so they can keep their accreditation and if you refused to volunteer then they would charge you $250. If you miss a clinical day they make you pay $250. The teachers are extremely disrespectful. One teacher made me beg to leave class to go to work. The school is run by sisters. the president, director of the lpn program, the cafeteria, financial aid, and records are all run by sisters. if you complain to one of them it gets you nowhere. There have been a few students in my class that have been kicked out of the program because they stood up to a teacher when the teacher was being unfair, rude, and unprofessional. They would schedule clinical days for the next course. For instance in maternity, we would have the maternity clinical cancelled and then be asked to go for the pediatric clinics even though we have not learned pediatrics. None of the credits you earn here can be applied to any other colleges. if you get kicked out then your time was wasted unless you wait for the next class to start. If you don’t have enough people in your class they will push back the whole program until there are enough people to attend the classes. I cannot stress enough for you not to go to this school. Save money and go to NOVA or a regular college.

  • Reviewed on October 02, 2012 (Flag Review)
  • Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

I know the school is very hard. Sometimes students are going to have a hard time with instructors, but let me tell you it's worth it! I graduated from global nursing school on 2007. It was hard work, but I did it. And I was not one of their favorites! Now I am a good nurse and everybody asks me which school I went to. I had very excellent instructors. I am planning to go back there for my RN degree and I will make it again.

  • Reviewed on September 25, 2012 (Flag Review)
  • Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

GHC has been my second home for the past year. I have learned so much and met some pretty amazing people...I love my teachers because they are sooo smart and kind...Everyone who works at GHC is highly educated...I recommend this school to anymone who truly want to be a nurse and can handle a fast pace environment......Good Luck....

  • Reviewed on June 26, 2012 (Flag Review)
  • Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Future nurse right here! Thank you Global Health College!

  • Reviewed on April 20, 2012 (Flag Review)
  • Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Every college has it's minor set backs, but Global Health is an amazing school. Not only do they have the one of the highest NCLEX passing rates, but they also have an extremely diverse student body. Whenever I was struggling in a class, I was able to be tutored for free and the faculty was helpful and supportive every step of the way.

  • Reviewed on April 03, 2012 (Flag Review)
  • Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

I would not attend this school. They are not professional, they make last minute changes, give no respect to students and even to their employees. Computers will stop working during a test, they cause so much havoc. And there has been too many problems involving financial aid. Their financial aid is in trouble. Too much shady business, and their student body is very poor.

Write Your Review of Global Health College

To get started, please select a rating from the drop down menu below. Reviews are subject to approval, and inappropriate or incendiary comments may be edited or rejected. All fields below are required.

Rate This School

Email

Review

I Accept the Terms of Use

Contact Information

General Contact

Admissions Office

Financial Aid Office

School Map




ACCEPTANCE RATE
56.52%

FINANCIAL AID RATE
100%

STUDENT:TEACHER RATIO
12:1

FINANCIAL AID AWARD AVG.
$2,885