public-colleges

Reviews For California State University – Northridge

18111 Nordhoff St, Northridge, CA

3 out of 5 Stars (8 Reviews)

California State University – Northridge Reviews

There are 8 reviews posted below for California State University - Northridge. We encourage you to write your own review in order to assist possible future students of this school.

  • Reviewed on July 06, 2016 (Flag Review)
  • Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

CSUN is the best bang for your buck. People complain about how they don't have this and that at CSUN. If you insist on whining like a little brat, get better grades, get better test scores, and pay 3-7 times more and go to the other local schools around Los Angeles. Sure, maybe if you fork over $60k to USC (versus $9k to CSUN), the facilities may be nicer or they may have more folks in all of the student services departments. Also, CSUN is operating with minimal staff thanks to CA cuts to educational funding. So while you all complain about staff being rude or not receiving help in a timely manner, why don't you contact CA state reps and demand more funding to the CSU system. But, no, you'd rather sit on your butt and just complain about how you don't want to pay anymore taxes. Again, for how little you have to pay to get a degree, CSUN is awesome.

  • Reviewed on September 24, 2015 (Flag Review)
  • Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

My only complaint about this school is the lack of social communications between students. It is hard to meet new people this way. You introduce yourself and the next day they will not care who you are. Some folks are cool but the majority leave off a pretty repulsive impression. You will also notice some sort of self-segregation. That being said, I still wish I had gone to Cal State LA instead. Overall, it is not a bad school. Many Professors go out of their way to help you as much as possible.

  • Reviewed on November 13, 2012 (Flag Review)
  • Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I have attended this school for two years after transferring from a community college. I was able to graduate on time from a College of Business and Econ. While I can not comment on other colleges, I liked the challenges, the faculty and my peers enough to come back here for an MBA. Yes, there are some lazy students and the name recognition is not there, but it is a quality education from hardworking professors. I do not regret coming back.

  • Reviewed on August 06, 2012 (Flag Review)
  • Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

I am microbiology student at csun and I am not the person who carries school pride. The reason I chose this school was because it was financially smart. As a BS student I get the same education as UC but for less; so by the time I get into a masters program at a prestigious university I won't be fluttered with debt. CSUN has many programs to help undergraduate prepare for interns and master program. So far I have had no problems with the biology department although when I first started I was somewhat edgy about my counselor in the science and mathematics department; however everything seems to be working out fine
First CSUN is known for their business and theater arts (as well as their growings engineering departments). Second this is a CSU so expect it to be a bit low in budget compared to UC or any private university. I do not know why these review are negative. CSUN is a university and the students are expected to learn from a university setting. If you cannot handle such...go to community college as a prep. Professors aren't lazy, they acquire students to think for themselves. Now I'm not saying that all the professors are the best and there are some who are nightmare-ish but take this to understanding, the professors at this college are not paid expressively. Yes parking is a pain as well as registering for classes but keep in mind that any CSU would be like this expecially with all this budget cuts and unit caps. The faculty and staff is okay. Like any college you get the best and worst of anything.
The only thing I would agree with is the Student Body. Like any election, they are cheats and doing this for personal gain. They have empty promises and have done nothing about the CSUN Unit cap.
FYI: when registering for classes check AHEAD of time to see any holds and register earily. Like any college its a competition. There are ways to get priority registration as well like decent GPA score depending on your department.

Overall this school is decent. With a decent environment and campus. Hope this is instructive.

  • Reviewed on January 28, 2012 (Flag Review)
  • Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

I have mixed feelings about this college. While i want to give the school high marks for what I have personally learned while enrolled at CSUN, I cannot help but think I would have learned as much anywhere else. The architecture is somewhat nice, and so is the teaching faculty (mostly, not entirely). Making positive remarks about this school is difficult, as I feel no other school I have ever been too can make less of a claim to said remarks. The negatives about this school are sadly numerous: Parking on campus is expensive, competitive and difficult. Enrolling in required classes is NIGHMARISHLY difficult, and I absolutely mean it. I never would have imagined so many roadblocks to timely success as I have seen. Classes fill rapidly with students from other departments before one from his/her own department can enroll. Also, certain departments lock students out of registering for classes until counseling has taken place. This alone has caused me to be delayed in earning my degree by over a year, as classes fill to capacity whilst you wait for your councilor to become available for your meeting. my counselor was more of an obstacle than a resource, and my personal opinion of him dropped lower with each meeting. The poor state budget has decreased the already poor class availability, while increasing student fees simultaneously. The website is constantly changing, frequently down, and its organization is often illogical at best. The student body is among the worst I have seen, consisting of massive groups of minority students who behave like gangsters, have a despicable attitude, and who are mostly going to school on taxpayer funded scholarships designed to increase the ratio of minority students to Asian and Caucasian students. The city of Northridge itself is a disgusting hovel of amoral, criminal, homeless, greedy, and selfish people. The air stinks of urine and bus exhaust, and I have been harassed on the street for money or by drunk people several times, and physically assaulted once. To top it all off, the weather is unbearable, consisting of dry, dirty, windy 90-100 degree air ALL YEAR, including winter, except for the 2-4 rainy days that turn the city into a stinking sewer. The school is way overcrowded for a CSU since there are a disproportionate number of people located nearby, a second CSU is needed in the San Fernando valley desperately. My final say is this: Do Not enroll at this school unless circumstances force you to. You will learn college level things by competent professors usually, but at which other American Universities can you do this, while simultaneously having a better experience? I would say ANYWHERE.

  • Reviewed on September 13, 2011 (Flag Review)
  • Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Unfriendly staff, specially housing. The dorms are dirty, rude staff, really really loud and ghetto people in the dorms. Classes are pack, so feel free to have a sit anywhere, but a chair. Unhealthy food choices, parking is not too bad now.

  • Reviewed on February 10, 2011 (Flag Review)
  • Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Took some elective classes there, seemed like a great college, lots of diversity and a welcoming faculty. Scheduling of classes was a bit difficult though.

  • Reviewed on May 29, 2010 (Flag Review)
  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

It takes the average student 6-7 years to get a bachelors degree, due to unnecessary upper division g.e. that have nothing to do with your major. Ugly campus,terrible food,dirty restrooms only one library,lack of school pride,unfriendly people,terrible faculty in the Biology department,lack of classes.It feels like high school all over again with some people that you come across.

Write Your Review of California State University – Northridge

To get started, please select a rating from the drop down menu below. Reviews are subject to approval, and inappropriate or incendiary comments may be edited or rejected. All fields below are required.

Rate This School

Email

Review

I Accept the Terms of Use

Contact Information

General Contact

Admissions Office

Financial Aid Office

College Video

School Map




ACCEPTANCE RATE
45.60%

FINANCIAL AID RATE
85%

STUDENT:TEACHER RATIO
27:1

FINANCIAL AID AWARD AVG.
$7,995